working you into a lather

Runner

– 17 April 2016 –

Happy Sunday!

This week, for you I have as much a challenge as a prompt. It’s a very simple concept.

 A few years ago, before I’d begun playwrighting and was looking for acting work, I did my own quick-and-dirty study on roles for women on Broadway. After all, who wouldn’t want to go back there? I discovered that a solid 80% of the roles – chorus, too – were men’s.

Which is why my plays all have a majority of female roles. I go for 80/20 but can’t always make it in smaller casts (I generally make 75/25, tho).

Your prompt, challenge, mission (should you choose to accept it) is to right this imbalance and make theater a more equal place for us all to live and work. Especially all the women actors, the vast majority of performers, who make do with 20% of the work.

Changing the world, one play at a time.

Happy writing.

p.s. I searched for an image to accompany this text, searched “8 women, 2 men” and discovered that the 80/20 ratio applies to digital design as well (I was offered a graphic of eight men and two women). I’m guessing that there is a parity of women and men going after those jobs – which aren’t marked “male” or “female” as they are in playscripts. Yes, this society needs changing and we need it now. Below you’ll see the only picture I could find in which women outnumber men. It was titled “old man and women.” I rest my case.

Yali_women_&_old_man

.

.

.

.

.

 

Leave a Reply

