working you into a lather

Runner

– 30 August 2015 –

Happy Sunday!

I was reading through my aborted MFA class papers and found a 30-line poem by Frank Giampietro, I have a terrible fear that.

Almost every line begins with that one phrase.

It is based on another poem, César Vallejo‘s Tengo un miedo terrible de ser un animal.

Some of Frank’s images are hysterically funny without meaning to be. Or, because he’s a good poet, maybe they did mean to, but the source of that structure is still a mystery to me, so I’m working on it.

For the fun of it, here is Vallejo’s poem. Structurally it has nothing to do with Giampietro’s, but I’m so fond of it that I thought you might like to read it.

This being a theater area, I’m suggesting that you write a play from Frank’s prompt but hey, write a poem if you like. Lordy, another generative prompt.

Happy writing.

fear2

.

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

