words to think by

Miniature Mountain with Daoist Paradise, 1736-1795 China, Qing dynasty (1644-1912), Qianlong reign

A person usually has two reasons for doing something: a good reason and the real reason. ~Thomas Carlyle

If you want to identify me, ask me not where I live, or what I like to eat, or how I comb my hair, but ask me what I think I am living for, in detail, and ask me what I think is keeping me from living fully for the thing I want to live for. Between those two answers you can determine the identity of any person. ~Thomas Merton

Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the men of old; seek what they sought. ~Basho

A thankful heart is not only the greatest virtue, but the parent of all the other virtues. ~Cicero

Try whenever possible to have the leading actors postpone their amorous adventures until after the opening. ~William Ball, A Sense of Direction

A ship in port is safe; but that is not what ships are built for. ~Grace Hopper, computer scientist and US Navy Rear Admiral (1906-1992)

and my current personal favorite

When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You just know that your name is safe in their mouth. ~Billy, age 4

.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

