how do you write?

Automates-Jaquet-Droz-p1030493

Not what.  Not about whom.  Not, ‘how do you come up with ideas’ or ‘what inspires you’ or ‘what’s your genre’ or ‘do you prefer long, multi-clause sentences or short, terse ones’.  But how?

Do you use a pencil and paper?  An iPad and two fingers?  An old IBM Selectric with the rotating ball?  A quill pen dipped in your enemy’s blood?

Sometimes, I pencil any nearby scrap of paper, heat-sensitive library receipt, sticky-pad, envelope, wall; pen on eye-soothing green lined steno pads; china-marker on a large newsprint easel pad; stain water with tears.  I’ve been known to pace or dance, declaiming, then scramble to type-and-save before I go dry.  I walk for miles, stopping and repeating both the pearls I’ve evolved and the string of them, not much exercise other than of the little gray cells.  I sing and chant and doodle and jump, I verbal-ramble into a voice-record app, I sleep, I dream.

How do you write?
©2012 all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

