quotations Monday

Details without significance; metrics without mattering; methodology without meaning: let’s hope we can save others and be saved from all of these means without worthy ends.  ~John Ramsay

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage. ~Anais Nin

I don’t know what kind of characters my plays will have until they … well, until they are. Until they indicate to me what they are. I don’t conceptualize in any way. Once I’ve got the clues I follow them—that’s my job, really, to follow the clues. ~Harold Pinter

I am not wise, but I have gained wisdom – an ability to look back, look at the now, and look ahead, all at the same time: grounding, centering, growing. ~Talespinner Alison Garrigan

If you think it’s easy living by your convictions then you are sadly mistaken. It’s the difference between letting life own you or owning your life, and it’s not for the faint of heart.  ~Jackie Delano Cummins

I can’t understand why people are frightened of new ideas. I’m frightened of the old ones.  ~John Cage

Talent gets you invited to camp; determination gets you on the team; teamwork gets you on the field; confidence gets you on the starting unit; love for the game keeps you there. ~Brett Nelson

A writer’s brain is full of little gifts, like a piñata at a birthday party. It’s also full of demons, like a piñata at a birthday party in a mental hospital.  ~Colin Nissan

Write as if you were dying. At the same time, assume you write for an audience consisting solely of terminal patients. That is, after all, the case. What would you begin writing if you knew you would die soon? What could you say to a dying person that would not enrage by its triviality? ~Annie Dillard

When you hit people, you have to expect that they might hit you back.  ~Whoopi Goldberg

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work. ~Thomas Edison

All truth goes through three steps. First, it is ridiculed, then it is violently opposed and finally it is accepted as self-evident. ~Arthur Schopenhauer

and my current favorite, in response to the colleague who keeps asking why I get produced and he doesn’t:

Chance favors the prepared mind.  ~Louis Pasteur

Leave a Reply

