why I love humans

The announcement of the most comprehensive map of the Universe to date contains this phrase:

The largest 3D map yet of the universe’s huge galaxies and bright black holes may serve as a springboard toward solving some of astronomy’s greatest mysteries, its creators say.

Yup, that’s right, more than admiring its beauty or inventing/refining for its own sake, we humans want to know WHY.

I’ve always understood that if I was told why I was to learn something, I’d have a much better chance of retaining it.

Knowing why something began or ended permitted me some sense of control in a world where frankly, nobody has any real control.

Understanding why is the basis of my work – “well, duh,” sez you.

Why do you write?

©2012

Leave a Reply

